Laboratory of Love

School days, school days, dear old golden rule days…

1910027_9575478573_977_n

I loved elementary school – all that learning, discovery and recess, all those field trips and parties, all that figuring out how to be a friend…

Jr. High brought new friendships, boy crushes, track practice and waaay more social learning than academic learning.

High school expanded the friendship circle even more.  I miss smiling at people as I pass them in the halls.  I miss basketball games and team spirit.

College.  Whoa!  Friendships and horizons expanded even further – to international students and people whose growing up was NOT AT ALL like mine.  Mind-blowing.

For a long time I missed learning.  I missed sitting in a lecture hall taking in new ideas.  Several times in the post-college years I sat in on one and was reminded of just how much I loved it – without the pressure of writing the perfect paper.

But it seems this brain has taken in all it wants to know.  I’ve grown bored with theories and academics.  Now I’m only interested in stories – true stories of hope, redemption, forgiveness, bravery, faith and love.

Human kindness and divine mercy – the stuff you learn in the laboratory of life.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Fifteen Credits.”

One thought on “Laboratory of Love

Say What You Will

