Pick Up the Pace

Here’s the daily prompt dilemma:  You’ve been granted the power to predict the future! The catch — each time you use your power, it costs you one day (as in, you’ll live one day less). How would you use this power, if at all?

First I’d flip to the back of my book to see how and when it ends.  That way I’d know how many days I had to work with, what percentage of the whole each prediction would cost me.

If I had a wealth of days, I’d look at the last chapter of my loved ones’ books whenever they were worried about their futures to see how and when their stories end.

Then I would encourage them accordingly.

“Don’t worry,” I might say, “It will all work out.  I happen to know that you are going to die old and full of years, with a satisfied smile. So take that risk…”

Or, perhaps, “You might want to pick up the pace…”

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Advantage of Foresight.”

2 thoughts on “Pick Up the Pace

Say What You Will

